My Trip: Day 12

Ugh…  Today will sort of suck but I hope it will be a good end to the tour.  I hope to get a picture of me and Mario and maybe Charlie.  I don’t know why I’m so sad to say bye.  Maybe it’s because I know I’ll never see Mario again and he was an extremely good tour guide.  He went above and beyond to make us satisfied.  He went on his own to buy gluten free noodles to bring to the restaurant that we were going to so they could cook it for someone who was gluten free in the group.  Plus he was just funny and nice.  

Plus I was pretty much relying on being able to spend my time with the girls and after we don’t get tours any more I’m not sure if we even stay as a group anymore.  So I’ll be stuck with my grandma.  This isn’t my last day in Europe but it’s the last day of being on the bus and being guided by Mario and driven by Charlie.  We stay in Sophia a couple days and then we all go our separate ways.  Me and my grandma will go to where the Dracula’s castle is set and then we go home Sunday I think.  

Tonight,  two of the girls and a couple people in our group will be playing a concert in the symphony.  Because that’s basically what this entire trip was based around.  The symphony playing a concert.  That might be a good end to the tour. 

We went on a little tour of Sophia.  Went into a few old churches and we walked through a nice park that had sculptures and playground equipment.  Afterwards we were on our own to roam the city and if we wanted we could come back to a meeting spot and take the bus back to the motel.  Or we could just wander off and find the hotel later.  I went and followed the girls of course and they wanted to go take the bus back which I was glad about because I wanted to leave my sweatshirt on the bus.  So we walked around and we stopped at a café and the girls got pizza and I was going to get a RedBull but apparently they were out.  So I got water which was probably a more nutritious alternative. 

 That café took most of our time because as I’ve said before,  don’t get food in Europe if you’re in a rush.  They move at a very slow pace. They expect you to spend hours there.  

Well we had like half an hour left so the girls got ice cream and I just followed them.  It’s weird with those girls.  Sometimes they ask me to come with and sometimes they just do stuff and I don’t know if I should just follow them or ask to go with them or what.  My social skills are clearly shit but I just feel like I don’t know what to do.  Sometimes I do stuff alone because they didn’t ask me to go and I don’t want to just follow them around.  I feel like they don’t want me to go with them sometimes.  

An hour before the concert we came down to the lobby of the hotel so that we could all say goodbye to Mario and Charlie.  They arranged some drinks for us all and we gave them gifts and tips for the wonderful service they provided us the past two weeks.  Mario seriously did everything to make sure we had a good trip.  He was a great tour guide.  I’m so glad my first trip to Europe was lead by such a great guy.  And he had to cancel his next tour he was supposed to guide because his wife in Korea is very sick and he has to go see her.  So even knowing that,  he still was happy and cheerful around us and he made sure we were happy.  Very sad to have to say buy to them.  But I got a picture of them so I will remember them forever. 

The symphony concert was okay,  I’m just not big on that kind of music I guess.  Plus I was tired and my head hurt so none of that went well together.  I only ate breakfast and nothing else and this concert ended at like,  8:30 so I was pretty hungry.  The girl’s grandma and her sister are super nice and try to include me in everything which I’m grateful for even though I’m not sure if it’s what the girls want.  But nevertheless the grandma and aunt asked me if I wanted to go eat and I said sure so we just sat outside of the motel in the dining area and I ordered a burger and the girls just ordered some desserts.  The burger I ordered turned out to be pretty big but I guess it was good.  We sat outside for a couple of hours just talking and enjoying the cool weather.  The waitress brought out these battery powered lights and put them on each table so we all wouldn’t be sitting in the dark. 

It was a good end to the day.  Relaxing and peaceful and full of laughs.  Tomorrow we arrange our time,  no more Mario to do it for us.  We’re going to some church and then I guess we have free time for the rest of the day.  I’ll try to spend it with the girls.  They just walk around and shop for stuff.  

Leave a Reply

